DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Master of the Universe


Master of the Universe




CATALOGUE TEXT
A man is sitting in an empty bank. He made millions as an investment banker, now he’s talking.
In his earlier films, Marc Bauder was interested in the GDR, the State Security, “the system”. This is also about a system, closed and perfidious. The protagonist’s ongoing narrative reveals a parallel universe that exists completely autonomously and shut away from the “normal” world – which is at its mercy. From the insider’s perspective, the point is less to understand how it all works in economic terms – at the end we will have learned that no one is able to explain or understand it – but to understand the psychological, social, and cultural mechanisms behind a business that is man-made. Perhaps the only approach that makes sense.
The real challenge, though, are the images. Bauder and his cameraman Börres Weiffenbach master it brilliantly by visualising the virtual world of financial capital as a cathedral. The camera meticulously explores the architecture of money, from the roof to the underground garage, glides over mirror facades, shiny surfaces and huge conference tables, through “trading rooms” and endless corridors that seem to have no exit. Through framing and travellings they generate a sacral feel. People only exist outside, far away, distorted, and tiny.

Grit Lemke
Credits
Original Title: Master of the Universe
Country: Germany, Austria
Year: 2013
Language: English, German
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 88 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Marc Bauder
Producer: Marc Bauder, Markus Glaser
Cinematographer: Börres Weiffenbach
Editor: Hansjörg Weißbrich, Rune Schweitzer
Music: B. Fleischmann
Sound: Michel Klöfkorn
Script: Marc Bauder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Master of the Universe


Master of the Universe




KATALOGTEXT
In einem menschenleeren Bankgebäude sitzt ein Mann. Als Investmentbanker machte er Millionen, jetzt redet er.
In seinen früheren Filmen interessierte sich Marc Bauder für die DDR, die Stasi, „Das System“. Auch hier geht es um ein solches, geschlossen und perfide. In der durchgehenden Erzählung des Protagonisten offenbart sich ein Paralleluniversum, das völlig autonom und abgekapselt von der „normalen“ Welt – die ihm ausgeliefert ist – existiert. Aus der Perspektive des Insiders geht es weniger darum, wie das Ganze ökonomisch funktioniert – am Ende werden wir wissen, dass dies niemand erklären oder verstehen kann –, sondern vor allem um die psychologischen, sozialen und kulturellen Mechanismen hinter dem Geschäft, das doch von Menschen gemacht wird. Vielleicht der einzige Ansatz, der Sinn macht.
Die eigentliche Herausforderung aber sind die Bilder. Bauder und sein Kameramann Börres Weiffenbach bewältigen sie bravourös, indem sie die virtuelle Welt des Finanzkapitals als Kathedrale der Macht visualisieren. Die Kamera erforscht akribisch die Architektur des Geldes vom Dach bis in die Tiefgarage, fährt über verspiegelte Fassaden, glänzende Oberflächen und riesige Konferenztische, durch „Trading Rooms“ und endlose Flure, die keinen Ausgang zu haben scheinen. Durch Einstellungen und Fahrten generiert sie eine sakrale Anmutung. Menschen gibt es nur im Draußen, weit weg, verzerrt und sehr klein.

Grit Lemke
Credits
Originaltitel: Master of the Universe
Land: Deutschland, Österreich
Jahr: 2013
Sprache: deutsch, englisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 88 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Marc Bauder
Produktion: Marc Bauder, Markus Glaser
Kamera: Börres Weiffenbach
Schnitt: Hansjörg Weißbrich, Rune Schweitzer
Musik: B. Fleischmann
Ton: Michel Klöfkorn
Buch: Marc Bauder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.